When the Edit credit doesn’t fit how you travel

The median Edit stay still costs $992 for two nights after the $250 credit. If that keeps happening to you, here is how the other premium cards spend their hotel credits instead.

Map of the 1,454 Edit by Chase Travel hotels the Sapphire Reserve credit applies to Open the interactive map →

The Sapphire Reserve’s $500 Edit credit only works if The Edit has a hotel you want, where you are going, at a price you meant to pay anyway. For a lot of trips it does not. Across 1,454 Edit properties, on our sampled two-night prices:

That is not a flaw in the list, which is meant to be luxury. But if you hold a $795 card for its hotel credits and keep finding nothing that fits, the other premium cards spend their hotel money very differently. This page sets them side by side, on their own published terms.

Five cards, one table

CardAnnual feeHotel creditWhere it can be spentMinimum stayHow it pays
Sapphire ReserveBest for two prepaid luxury stays a year where The Edit has a hotel, plus a travel credit that applies itself$795$500 a year, as up to $250 on each of two prepaid staysThe Edit by Chase Travel2 nightsstatement credit
Amex PlatinumBest for the widest luxury hotel list, one-night stays, and a trip in each half of the year$895$600 a year, as up to $300 in each half of the yearFine Hotels + Resorts or The Hotel Collection, prepaid through Amex Travelno minimum at Fine Hotels + Resorts; 2 nights at The Hotel Collectionstatement credit
Venture XBest for a credit that is easy to use on any trip, at half the Reserve’s fee$395$300 a year toward any booking through Capital One TravelCapital One Travel: hotels, flights or rental carsnot stated by the issuercredit on Capital One Travel bookings
Citi Strata EliteBest for one hotel trip a year, discounted when you book$595up to $300 off one hotel stay a yearCiti Travel (cititravel.com)2 nightsdiscount taken off the price at booking
Sapphire PreferredBest for keeping Chase points for $95 a year when you do not use the Reserve’s credits$95$100 a year on a hotel booked through Chase TravelChase Travel (any hotel, not only The Edit)not stated by the issuerstatement credit

No affiliate links. The card links on this page go to each issuer’s own page, and we earn nothing from them. Card terms checked on those pages on October 6, 2026; they change, so confirm before you apply.

Start from what is not working

“There is no Edit hotel where I travel.”

The Edit covers 1,454 hotels. Amex’s two hotel programs cover over 3,000, and its $600 credit is split $300 per half-year, so it suits two trips a year. The Venture X and Sapphire Preferred credits are not tied to a curated list at all: they apply to bookings through Capital One Travel and Chase Travel. Sapphire Reserve vs Amex Platinum · vs Venture X

“Every Edit hotel costs far more than the credit.”

That is the median case: $992 after the credit. A credit that is not limited to luxury hotels goes further on an ordinary trip. The Venture X’s $300 applies to any Capital One Travel booking, flights included, and its fee is $400 lower. If you would rather stay with the Reserve, the 26 Edit stays the credit covers in full are the place to start. Sapphire Reserve vs Venture X

“I only take one hotel trip a year.”

The full Edit credit needs two separate prepaid stays. The Citi Strata Elite takes up to $300 off one stay of two nights or more, once a year, at the moment you book rather than as a credit afterwards, for a $595 fee. Sapphire Reserve vs Citi Strata Elite

“I am paying $795 and not using the hotel credits.”

The Sapphire Preferred costs $95, keeps you in Chase’s points program, and carries a $100 credit on any Chase Travel hotel. You give up the Edit credit and the $300 travel credit. Whether that is a good trade comes down to which credits you actually use. Keep the Reserve or move to the Preferred

Before you switch

Common questions

What is the best alternative to the Chase Sapphire Reserve for hotel credits?

It depends on what makes the Edit credit hard to use. For more luxury hotels, the Amex Platinum's $600 hotel credit covers over 3,000 properties at a $895 fee. For a credit that is not tied to a luxury list, the Venture X gives $300 a year toward any Capital One Travel booking at a $395 fee. To keep Chase points at a much lower fee, the Sapphire Preferred costs $95 and carries a $100 Chase Travel hotel credit.

Why is the Sapphire Reserve Edit credit hard to use?

The Edit is a list of about 1,450 luxury hotels, and the $250 credit only applies to prepaid stays of two nights or more booked through Chase Travel. On our sampled prices only 26 of 1,439 stays cost less than the credit, and the median stay still costs $992 for two nights after it.

Should I cancel the Sapphire Reserve if I cannot use the Edit credit?

Not necessarily. The $500 Edit credit is one part of a $795 card that also carries a $300 travel credit, dining and other credits, and travel protections. If the hotel credits are the reason you hold it and you are not using them, the Sapphire Preferred at $95 keeps you earning Chase points; card blogs report Chase will move you to it by phone.

Or find an Edit stay the credit covers

Is the Sapphire Reserve worth its fee? · Every rule on the Edit credit · All 1,454 Edit hotels